Q&A: Five questions with an American Red Cross intern

Meet Maggie Pierre, a 19-year-old student from Medford who just finished her internship with the American Red Cross of Eastern Massachusetts this week. We took the time to sit down with her and discuss her four-month experience.

Why did you decide to work with the American Red Cross of Eastern Massachusetts? I am really interested in the medical area and my school principal said I should look into working with the Red Cross. I just wanted to be involved.

What did you do during your time here? I worked with [Disaster Services Human Resources and Training Associate] Betsey Boesch putting together training packets for volunteers, worked on a newsletter and powerpoint presentation, and other small projects. I worked once a week from 8:30 to 4:30 for my internship.

What did you learn while you were here? I’ve heard of the American Red Cross, but never knew about their disaster relief. I got how essential these services are to the whole American Red Cross. I never realize how many fires volunteers went to each week.

What are your plans now? After I graduate from the Community Charter School of Cambridge, I plan to attend the University of Bridgeport and major in biology.

Do you plan to continue your work with the American Red Cross? I want to come back as a volunteer [a Disaster Action Team member] and go on fire trips. I love helping other people.

Want to volunteer with us? There is a range of options for those who are interested! There is no shortage of ways you can make a difference in the lives of people who need it most. Apply today!

Leave a Reply

