Red Cross-ready…shoes

Now that I’ve been six months at the Red Cross, I can say this job has really enriched my life. I work with folks who see people at their worst and help them recover; I’ve met volunteers from around the world who credit the Red Cross for saving their lives; and I get to use stuff I know to help get the word out to folks who need help.

And I get to indulge in shoes. Yes, shoes.

Part of being involved in communications means getting the word out to many different sorts of folks. Which means switching up the shoes depending on the dress code for the situation.

Talking about brand and preparedness at the Boston Innovation Challenge in BOC red peep-toe espadrilles.

“Give a girl the right shoes, and she can conquer the world,” said Marilyn Monroe.

I have red wedges for cold weather and red wedges for a heat wave. If you show up to talk about the American Red Cross, folks seem to expect you to be wearing red. You should see these when I’m wearing my full-length red raincoat. You say ridiculous? I say you’re going to notice me when I walk into a room. I’m going to keep your attention when I talk about the folks I work with.

Clarks Mary Janes in dull black. Matches anything and you can stand in heels for days. Bonus: They come in Extra-Wide.

I have go-to black heels made on a flexible last. Ever walk 14 blocks through Washington D.C. and then try to catch up with a boss running after a taxi we’re sharing to the airport?

Need to stand at a press conference or in front of a camera for two hours?

Get something with arch support that’s flexible and will move with your feet. I know they come in brown. I’d buy more of them if Clarks made them in red and purple. Any of you folks out there can work on that? Much obliged.

Dansko water-repellent clogs with thick soles perfect for walking over broken glass, gravel.

Not all the stuff I do is for fancy events or office work. Sometimes there’s a disaster and somebody’s got to get the word out while others are setting up shelters, getting cases of water and piles of paperwork in a disaster vehicle. I can’t say I’m made for the heavy-duty casework, but these shoes are. They’re currently in my car under a pair of jeans and a disaster vest and an extra pair of wool socks. I’ve worn these in a foot of snow (they’re water-repellent) and I’ve tucked them under a suit.

Rubber boots with treads on the bottom. A must in New England.

In keeping with the leopard-print theme, I have fabulous “wellies” which are plain-old rubber boots.

In New England cities where ice-filled drains create ice-filled puddles on corners, a rubber boot with a tread on the bottom is required. I walk right through snow and 3 inches of still water in these. And since they’re kind of fun looking, I will admit to wearing them out to a fancy restaurant. They’ll fit under boot-cut jeans and some suit pants.

Born Shoes nearly 4-inch heels. They come with arch supports built-in.

Last are my photo heels. I have a unique problem — I am not quite 5’3″ and work with two very tall folks. Our head of development is 5’11” and our CEO is 6’2″. So I don’t look like the Fisher Price people next to Barbie and Ken, I wear my big heels.

These shoes are not for walking. They are not for disaster sites. They’re only in my closet to let me pretend that some days, I am not built like a teapot, short and stout. And sometimes, that’s the only boost of confidence I need.

Just a last word — yes, I have red-painted toes. The head IT guy for the American Red Cross in our region has pointed out that I’m wearing the wrong shade of red. This color is Opi’s Big Apple Red. I’m still looking for that exact shade of red that has been famous for over 130 years.

5 Responses

  1. And what exactly is the pantone code for ARC red????

  2. PANTONE 485!

  3. OPI 25 Colorful Years is Pantone 485 🙂

  4. OPI red is my fav

  5. […] More on my Red Cross shoes here. […]

Leave a Reply

